![]() | |
| |||||||
| Register | FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read |
| Auction Scam This is RANK as the # 1 SCAM/RIPOFF on the internet. The statistics is staggering. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack (2) | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
#1
| ||||
| ||||
__________________ Last edited by Scrub; 04-28-08 at 02:11 AM. |
|
#2
| |||
| |||
I've seen Bid-alot spam too. Please be aware that there is a real "Bid-alot" company, and these goons are just using its name as a cover story. In my experience so far, these scammers keep supplying an invalid reply-to address, so they can't be terribly effective. Also, note how these guys advertise three positions: "client manager", "remote manager", and "carting manager". The "remote manager" offers the highest wage for the smallest effort. It's the bait: the other two jobs are just decoys. And yes, it's a blatant money mule job.
__________________ iDeceive -- http://ideceive.blogspot.com/ -- A Spotlight on Deceptive Internet Practices ****ers Wanted -- http://****erswanted.blogspot.com/ -- Employment Opportunities That Will Cost You |
|
#3
| |||
| |||
I have three copies, but I can't necessarily share them because they were user-contributed rather than delivered to my own address. Anonymity is important because many spammers are vindictive, and don't like their scams exposed. However, I can give you a useful piece of information: the original IP source was the same for all three instances. Time zones have been converted to UTC. Received: from duron (20178031078.user.veloxzone.com.br [201.78.31.78]) by [redacted] with SMTP id k9NNxe324752 for <[redacted]>; Tue, 23 Oct 2006 23:59:40 -0000 (UTC) Received: from duron (20178031078.user.veloxzone.com.br [201.78.31.78]) by [redacted] with SMTP id k9NNxOUL011974 for <[redacted]>; Tue, 23 Oct 2006 23:59:26 -0000 (UTC) Received: from duron (20178031078.user.veloxzone.com.br [201.78.31.78]) by [redacted] with SMTP id k9O06c329161 for <[redacted]>; Tue, 24 Oct 2006 00:06:39 -0000 (UTC)
__________________ iDeceive -- http://ideceive.blogspot.com/ -- A Spotlight on Deceptive Internet Practices ****ers Wanted -- http://****erswanted.blogspot.com/ -- Employment Opportunities That Will Cost You |
|
#4
| |||
| |||
The last 2 days has seen a spammer sending out fraudulent emails like the one below. As CEO of Bid-Alot.com I assure you we do not send out spam emails like this. Please disregard the email as it is fraudulent. We will never send out email like this. The email does not originate from our servers. thank you. here is the Fraudulant email below. Quote:
__________________ bid-alot.com online auctions Last edited by Bid-Alot-Admin; 02-05-08 at 11:20 PM. Reason: update |
|
#5
| |||
| |||
another one. Quote:
__________________ bid-alot.com online auctions |
|
#6
| |||
| |||
some more info Quote:
__________________ bid-alot.com online auctions |
|
#7
| |||
| |||
Actually, in this case I sent the email that you've quoted the header from. I just googled my own name and found this thread with my email header displayed to the whole world. The email was sent to you to inform you that someone was claiming to be you and sending out spam in your name (assuming it wasn't actually Bid-a-lot doing the spamming). I didn't annotate it because I thought it would be obvious and to be honest I don't have the time to waste on spam. I sent it to "abuse@yahoo.com" (which is where my bid-a-lot spam was served from) and also back to the people who seemed to send it (webmaster@bid-alot.com, contact@bid-alot.com). Incidentally, I remember this one quite well. I traced back details of Bid-a-lot from google -> the shonky looking website (www.bid-alot.com.au (server's down now, but was similar or identical to www.bid-alot.com; no physical address, "contact form" instead of email address, etc) -> WHOIS (shows: AUSSIECOMMUNITY PTY LTD / ABN 68116167894 / Contact Person: Russell Bailey / email: music@optusnet.com.au ) -> Australian Business Register (which shows GARDENAUCTIONS, AUSSIEDVD, AUSSIEPANELBEATERS & MUSICAUCTIONS as alternate trading names all based in QLD 4170) -> Whitepages.com.au (which should be a trivial excercise from here) -> a physical address. I wanted to know if they were based somewhere nearby because it's not everyday that you get spam (apparently) coming from somewhere nearby. It was only after this investigation of public information provided by government websites (ASIC, Sensis, ABR, etc) and *before* I discovered Russel's personal email address ( music@optusnet.com.au ) was only available from whois.ausregistry.com.au that I sent the email. So I guess sometimes I really do have time to waste on spam In any case, in trying to make a defence against spamming you've now published my email address and full email headers to the whole world which explains the dramatic uptake in spam in my account in the last couple of months. Thanks heaps. Last edited by Scott McLauchlan; 05-07-08 at 03:45 AM. Reason: insufficient sarcasm / vitriol |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Tags |
| bidalotcom , emailing , recent , spam |
LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: http://www.scamfraudalert.com/f76/recent-bid-alot-com-emailing-spam-11737/ | ||||
| Posted By | For | Type | Date | |
| Spam Warning! - Forums | This thread | Refback | 02-25-08 07:42 PM | |
| Spam Warning! - Forums | This thread | Refback | 02-16-08 03:41 PM | |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
| |