![]() | |
| |||||||
| Register | FAQ | Members List | Calendar | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read |
| Religion - Adoption - Charity Scams Are people of religious faith more likely to get scam. What are some of the scams out there. |
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
#1
| ||||
| ||||
He is up and running his fake check scam again, this time it is www.amaliahome.org. Warn as many as possible. Thanks, - Ramona www.webnetpresence.com
__________________ Ramona Kurylas www.webnetpresence.com Web Design & Online Technical Support ramona@webnetpresence.com |
|
#2
| |||
| |||
Hey Romona, All this jerk is doing is to simply changed the site name and registered or maybe not registered the so called new site. He ought to be caught or stop by now. WhoIs Lookup Domain ID Domain Name:WWW.AMALIAHOME.ORG Created On:13-Feb-2006 01:59:20 UTC Last Updated On:14-Feb-2006 23:11:00 UTC Expiration Date:13-Feb-2007 01:59:20 UTC Sponsoring Registrar:Gandi SARL (R42-LROR) Status:TRANSFER PROHIBITED Registrant ID:O-964915-GANDI Registrant Name:Amalia Registrant Organization:michael crump Registrant Street1:12417 Stirrup strasse Registrant City Registrant State/Province: Registrant Postal Code:20715 Registrant Country:NL Registrant Phone:+31.2023091233 Registrant Email:exconwide@yahoo.com Admin ID:MC2230-GANDI Admin Name:michael crump Admin Organization:Amalia Admin Street1:12417 Stirrup strasse Admin City Admin Postal Code:20715 Admin Country:NL Admin Phone:+31.2023091233 Admin Email:exconwide@yahoo.com Tech ID:AR41-GANDI Tech Name:CONTACT NOT AUTHORITATIVE see http://www.gandi.net/whois Tech Organization:GANDI SARL Tech Street1:see also whois.gandi.net Tech City:Paris Tech Postal Code:75003 Tech Country:FR Tech Phone:+33.1 Tech Email:support@gandi.net Name Server:NS1.NVC39.COM Name Server:NS2.NVC39.COM Name Server: http://img141.imageshack.us/my.php?i...62141187kz.png |
|
#3
| ||||
| ||||
Scam Targets Homebodies Denise Ellen Rizzo Tracy Press Work at home and make easy money. That is the introduction to the latest scam to hit e-mail inboxes, and police say people are unfortunately buying into it. The scam invites people to work at home using one of two different ploys. Some people are invited to work for an investment company cashing checks for their clients. Once they have the cash, they’re told to wire the money to an overseas account. The problem with this job is that the checks are using someone else’s bank account number. Those duped into cashing them are usually caught by police and then considered to be a suspect in the scam. “Checks average $1,000 to $2,000 (each),” Detective Marc Bergman said. “They are told they can keep 10 percent of the check and the rest is to be wired.” The other scam angle invites people to buy goods over the Internet to be sent to overseas locations. The problem with this job is that the purchases are being made with stolen credit card numbers. Bergman said he is currently investigating Tracy residents who have been reeled in both as victims and as unknowing participants. Bergman said the red flag in this scam is the overseas locations connected with the jobs. He said the conmen in these scams usually want the money or goods sent to Russia, Nigeria or Romania. One Tracy woman told Bergman she read about a work-at-home job reading a popular job market listing. She said she soon found herself being asked to cash checks for a so-called investment firm. To reinforce the scam, applicants are sent numerous e-mails praising their work with promises of a promotion — the workers are told they must work at least a year to be eligible for better jobs. He said the check-cashing scam has a small success rate, because most people are caught and usually won’t try it a second time. Bergman said he traced a stolen Tracy credit card number to a Concord apartment. He said a note on the door regarding Internet-purchased shoes told him he was at the right place. The woman living there said she began making Internet purchases for a company in mid-November. Although she never got paid, she did receive some clothing. She told officers she had no idea the credit card number was stolen. She said she felt bad for the person running the ad, because he was posing as a Nigerian pastor. Since officers can’t trace the case back to the scam artists, the woman is still considered a suspect. “It’s a worldwide problem. People are looking for a way to make some easy money from home, but it’s all bad,” Bergman said. “If it’s too good to be true, it probably is.” Police are urging anyone that receives a too-good-to-be-true e-mail offer should contact police at the Internet Crime Complaint Center at www.ic3.gov. ? To reach reporter Denise Ellen Rizzo, call 830-4224 or e-mail drizzo@tracypress.com. http://www.tracypress.com/local/2006-02-09-Scam.php
__________________ |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Tags |
| abante , adeona , aka , amaliahomeorg , concordia , public |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
| |